bootstrap table

Eastern District     (Geographic District)    
No Longer Exists     

Other Names (also known as):
Former Name(s): Lunenburg District

Geographic*: ,

Established 24 July 1788 as Lunenburg District, renamed Eastern District in 1792, and abolished in 1849; Consisted of the counties of Dundas, Glengarry, Grenville, Leeds, Ontario (#1), Prescott, Russell & Stormont. In 1798 Carleton, Grenville & Leeds were removed and established as Johnstown District. In 1816 Prescott and Russell were removed to create Ottawa District. In 1826, 1838 & 1845 Eastern District consisted of the counties of Dundas, Glengarry and Stormont.

Source(s) of Information:

Familiar with this place? Add or correct information

Climbing your Family Tree?
Learn more about the genealogical resources available for this place by visiting the Geographic County page

Question about any of the above headings? Please see our legend for explanation

* Geographic location will help you locate the area needed for genealogical research.

Municipal location will help you locate the place as it is today (if it still exists), but will be useless if you're trying to find the place as it was located more than ten, twenty, or thirty years ago.

As this site is designed for genealogists our emphasis is on geographic & former locations.

Copyright © Ontario Locator 1998-