bootstrap table

Russell County     (Geographic County)    
See:     Prescott-Russell

Other Names (also known as):
Former Name(s):

Geographic*: , Ontario (Province of)
Municipal: The United Counties of Prescott and Russell
Formerly in Eastern District (1800-1816); Ottawa District (1816-1849)

Established 1800 from Stormont County; Originally comprised of the townships of Clarence, Cumberland, Cambridge and Russell - Cumberland later became part of Carleton; Named for Peter Russell an Upper Canada government administrator

Genealogical Resources
Russell County GenWeb

Source(s) of Information:

Familiar with this place? Add or correct information

Climbing your Family Tree?
Learn more about the genealogical resources available for this place by visiting the Geographic County page

Question about any of the above headings? Please see our legend for explanation

* Geographic location will help you locate the area needed for genealogical research.

Municipal location will help you locate the place as it is today (if it still exists), but will be useless if you're trying to find the place as it was located more than ten, twenty, or thirty years ago.

As this site is designed for genealogists our emphasis is on geographic & former locations.

Copyright © Ontario Locator 1998-