bootstrap table

Hastings County     (Geographic & Municipal County)
Currently Exists     

Other Names (also known as): County of Hastings
Former Name(s):

Geographic*: , Ontario (Province of)
Municipal: County of Hastings
Formerly in Midland District (1792-1839); Victoria District (1839-1849)

Established 1792; In 1846 was comprised of Elzevir, Grimsthorp, Hungerford, Huntingdon, Lake, Marmora, Madoc, Rawdon, Sydney, Tudor, Thurlow and (one other) townships; Named for Francis Rawdon Hastings

One of Ontario's Municipalities; Incorporated 1850; The Municipality of the County of Hastings includes the Townships of Bangor, Wicklow, McClure, Herschel, Monteagle, Carlow, Faraday, Mayo, Wollaston, Limerick, Tudor & Cashel, Marmora & Lake, Madoc, and Stirling-Rawdon, plus the Towns of Bancroft and Deseronto, Village of Marmora, and the municipalities of Tweed and Centre Hastings.

Genealogical Resources
Hastings County GenWeb

Source(s) of Information:

Familiar with this place? Add or correct information

Climbing your Family Tree?
Learn more about the genealogical resources available for this place by visiting the Geographic County page

Question about any of the above headings? Please see our legend for explanation

* Geographic location will help you locate the area needed for genealogical research.

Municipal location will help you locate the place as it is today (if it still exists), but will be useless if you're trying to find the place as it was located more than ten, twenty, or thirty years ago.

As this site is designed for genealogists our emphasis is on geographic & former locations.

Copyright © Ontario Locator 1998-